Neurosis

Yah! Full day tomorrow! I have an eye appointment in the morning, so he can give me the all-clear to start flying again! Really, really hopes he considers everything to be.. well, healthy and acceptable. I’m going to ask that they give me clearance to fly after recurrent training next week (fuck!) so I will get this weekend free, because a) I think I’m going to Dubai Thursday with Mo, and b) I should go meet Tyler early Wednesday morning at the airport, and c) because I am now very used to this excessive freedom!

Then the gym. Then.. I have a date with Mo! Going to an improv theatre show, we’ll see how that plays out! Apparently it’s completely unscripted, and takes shoutouts from the audience. Sounds like a disaster to me, but I won’t judge until I’ve seen it for myself. I last saw Mo on Thursday night for his friend’s (Camel, yes like the animal) birthday bash at Embassy. Great night. 🙂 He has rather awesome friends, and by now I know how much I get kicks out of big groups of strangers. We drove to an afterparty at some German/American guy’s place with half the people as well in varying flashy cars and left after the sun was up. Hadn’t been up that late (early) in a long time! Everyone seemed so interesting – all different races, mostly mixed, and mostly born in Abu Dhabi, and now back after 4 to 10 years overseas somewhere.

I often used to wish I was a student in an international school, all worldly and multilingual, with a pair of savvy globetrotting parents who would make it their duty to introduce me to all the culture and magic and wonder of the world. I used to eyeball expat kids in Shanghai and daydream about being like them. That was the third time we’ve hung out anyway, so I’m excited to do something external to a bar/club scene. We exchanged some very flirty/suggestive texts last night, ohyah. I vaguely considered pasting them all here..but they wouldn’t entertain other people nearly as much as they do me! Petra messaged me as well to do something tomorrow, so it might be time for another ladies night post-comedy theatrics!

Apart from that my weekend was pretty blase, just sleeping in, working out, sofa-slopping.. As I already announced on Facebook, I got past 9km on the tread, yipee! I think I messed up my legs or joints though, the last two days I’ve been too stiff to run, and I hate it! Went out with David on Friday night – I think we were both expecting a huge ripper of a night but it just didn’t pan out that way, kind of a bummer, even with his vegas jacket and my thunder earrings. 😦 I avoided study all week so took the initiative to go a cafe tonight for a change of scenery and an attempt to focus, seeing as it’s Sunday! Didn’t get very far with it.

Nourhan met an Australian guy on a flight a while ago, they got chatting on Facebook, and he invited her to stay with him in Newcastle where he lives. It was beyond awesome to see her so happy about something, work and study has kind of gotten her down as of late. I really want her to go, the guy seems genuine and considerate, just got back from long-term backpacking all over the world. This is exactly what she needs – a romantic holiday adventure! Wouldn’t mind one myself, either. 🙂

I’m becoming more and more neurotic about a few particular things, I guess mostly relationships and health right now. I think (hope) things will balance back out once I start working again. I have way too much time to analyze and agonize over small things..! I’ve been getting this odd feeling lately that I kind of reminding myself of Sophia, like the habits I’m forming resemble hers, or at least ones she used to have when I was living with her. Bizarre, right?!

2 Comments

Filed under blog

2 responses to “Neurosis

  1. kylie smith

    i miss getting flirty texts. im a married woman now. its so exciting lol

Leave a comment